EEA Grants

Through the European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement, signed in the city of Oporto in May 1992, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are partners, in the internal market, of the Member States of the European Union.

As a way of promoting a continuous and balanced strengthening of the economic and trade relations, the parties of the European Economic Area Agreement have established a Multiannual Financial Mechanism, known as the EEA Grants, through which Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway provide financial support to Member States of the European Union with the greatest deviations from the European average GDP per capita, which includes Portugal.

EEA Grants Objectives

The two major EEA Grants objectives are:

  • To reduce the economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area
  • To strengthen the bilateral relations between beneficiary and donor countries.

Programmes funded by the EEA Grants:

Blue Growth

Regarding the potential of the sea, the programme promotes marine and maritime sustainable growth.


Promotion of Circular Economy, decarbonization of Society and valorisation of the territory.


The programme shall focus on the role of arts and coastal cultural heritage.

Work-life Balance

The programme promotes gender equality and work-life balance.

Active Citizens Fund

This programme supports initiatives that aim to strengthen civil society and active citizenship and empower vulnerable groups.

Bilateral Relations

This fund supports several initiatives to strengthen relations between Portugal and the Donor States.